Candidates to vie for ACC seats

Four of five seats on the Arizona Corporation Commission are up for election this November.

As of last week, seven candidates - including four incumbents - filed campaign finance papers to run for the four seats.

Republicans Bill Mundell of Phoenix, Lowell S.

Gleason of Sun City West, Jeff Hatch-Miller of Paradise Valley and Kris Mayes of Tempe are out to retain their seats.

Mayes was appointed by Gov.

Janet Napolitano last year to complete the remainder of Jim Irvin's seat after Irvin resigned amid scandal.

Mayes, a former Arizona Republic reporter and Napolitano aide, will face Carl Seel of Phoenix in September's Republican primary.

There is not yet a Democrat opponent for Mayes' seat.

Whoever wins Mayes' seat will serve until 2007, said Kevin Tyne of the Secretary of State's office.

Mundell, Gleason and Miller will face Republican John Conley of Chandler in the Republican primary for three other seats that expire in 2009, Tyne said.

The three Republicans who qualify for the general election will face Democrat Mark Manoil of Phoenix in November.

Former Commissioner Renz Jennings is serving as Manoil's campaign manager.

Each candidate has until June 9 to submit enough signatures to qualify for ballot access.

The only Corporation Commissioner who is not up for re-election this year is Republican Marc Spitzer, whose term expires in 2006.