County receives housing grant

KINGMAN – The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development announced last week the award of $58,438 to Mohave County to provide three additional units of housing for single families that are deemed chronically homeless with serious mental illness or a co-occurring disorder.

According to Barbara Blythe, grants coordination specialist for the Mohave County Community and Economic Development Department, the program is a continuation of their existing rental assistance program.

Criteria is similar to the Section 8 program, which is regulated by HUD fair market housing standards. She said the biggest difference is that the three families will be selected by Mohave Mental Health.

Blythe said the anticipated start date for the new program would be the beginning of July.

HUD granted over $8.55 million to the Arizona Department of Housing to serve “homeless persons with transitional and permanent supportive housing programs,” according to an ADOH news release.

The funding will be distributed down to 19 existing homeless assistance programs as well as three brand new programs in Mohave County, Coconino County, Yavapai County, Apache County and Navajo County.

“These funding awards, along with the work off the Interagency and Community Council on Homelessness that I established, will allow Arizona to continue to move in the direction of ending long-term homelessness,” said Gov. Janet Napolitano.

According to the news release, HUD’s Continuum of Care programs have helped to provide permanent and transitional housing to homeless person’s nationwide.

The Continuum of Care grants have also helped to fund services including job training, health care, mental health counseling and substance abuse treatment.

The Continuum has awarded $28,592,469 statewide to programs within the three jurisdictions.

“The Department of Housing is pleased to see the addition of three programs to provide additional services for homeless persons in rural Arizona,” said Dr. Sheila Harris, director of the Arizona Department of Housing.