Most county races are uncontested

KINGMAN – Sixteen county offices are up for election in the Sept. 12 primary. Wednesday was the final day for candidates to declare their intent to run. All contenders are now at the starting line, however, nine of the races will be one-sided.

Of the remaining seven contested races, just three have more than one party participating to be decided in November’s general election.

The most congested race is for the constable of Lake Havasu City, with five candidates. There are 27 total candidates for the 16 positions.

Looking at the state picture, Democratic candidate Jim Pederson and Libertarian candidate Richard Mack are set to challenge Republican incumbent Jon Kyl for the U.S. Senate in November.

The Democrats have a three-way race for the party’s nomination in seeking the U.S. Representative seat for District 2. Suchindran “Chat” Chatterjee, Gene Scharer and John Thrasher will be vying for the nod to face Republican incumbent Trent Franks and Libertarian candidate Powell Gammill for the position.

At the state level, Senator Ron Gould is unopposed for District 3. The Hualapai and Havasupai Nations reside in District 2 where Democratic candidate Albert Hale will try to retain his seat against Republican challenger Royce Jenkins.

Democratic candidate for District 3 state Representative Luis Lopez will have to wait until after the primary to see whom he will face in the general election. Ray Cullison, Doris Goodale and incumbents Trish Groe and Nancy McLain are vying for two Republican nominations.

In District 2, Democrats and incumbents Ann Kirkpatrick and Albert Tom will meet Republican Preston Korn in the general election.

Also in a statewide race, Kingman resident Joe Hart is running for Arizona Mine Inspector. He faces Larry Nelson of Mesa. Both are running as Republicans.

The Mohave County lineup card includes:

Charles Gurtler, Rep., and Kenneth Sondgeroth, Rep., for Superior Court Division 1

Randolph Bartlett, Rep., for Superior Court Division 2, unopposed

Steven Conn, Rep., for Superior Court Division 3, unopposed

Ron Gilleo, Rep., and James Chavez, Rep., for Superior Court Division 4

Richard Weiss, Rep., for Superior Court Division 6, unopposed

Virlynn Tinnell, Rep., for Clerk of the Superior Court, unopposed

Tom Brady, Rep., for Justice of the Peace for Bullhead City, unopposed

John Taylor, Rep., for Justice of the Peace for Cerbat, unopposed

Rick Lambert, Rep., Randolph Wolfson, Dem., and Don Martin, Rep., for Justice of the Peace for Kingman

Jill Wachtel Davis, Rep., and James Ditslear, Ind., for Justice of the Peace for Lake Havasu City

Mitchell Kalauli, Rep., for Justice of the Peace for Moccasin, unopposed

Ray Burt, Rep., and Michael Hamilton, Rep., for constable for Bullhead City

Jean Bishop, Rep., and Dennis Gaddis, Rep., for constable for Cerbat

Pam Bibich, Dem., for constable for Kingman

Pattie Plowman, Dem., Don Donahue, Rep., Rob Crabtree, Rep., Robert Pelzer, Rep., and Bryan Chinarian, Rep., for constable for Lake Havasu City

Travis Heaton, Rep., for constable for Moccasin