Halloween Coloring Contest
The Kingman Daily Miner Logo
Trusted local news leader for Kingman, Arizona & Mohave County
6:17 AM Mon, Oct. 15th

KHS band strikes right notes at state

KINGMAN - The Kingman High School marching band picked up a superior performance rating in Division 2 competition this past weekend at the State Marching Band Festival held at Red Mountain High School in Mesa.

The band, comprised of more than 79 musicians and color guard members, competed against 26 other high school bands from communities as far away as Nogales and Yuma. The superior rating, the highest designation given, came under the direction of Gino Hernandez.

The band played and marched to such tunes as "What is Hip," "So Very Hard to Go," and "Attitude Dance" by Tower of Power.

An excellent rating earned at the Northern Arizona University Band Day, at The Goldwater Marching Band Competition and Prescott Marching Festival qualified the Kingman High School marching band for the state event.

"Practice makes perfect," said senior Matthew Olson, who is a high bass drum percussionist.

Band members prepared for the success they experienced by practicing up to five hours daily two weeks before the start of school in the fall.

They meet daily in class for one hour to go over musical selections and spend another six hours per week after school working on marching formations.

Band members wore their new uniforms for the first time at the state competition. The community gave $31,000 for the new uniforms. They feature a blue and gold waist coat with black pants and blue and gold hat with blue and gold sparkling plume and brass buttons.

Band members for 2006 included - alto sax: Kadria Young, Sasha Berry, Kristine O'toole, Megan Shupe, Alison Smith, Bryan Traxler; baritone: Erin Reiman, Adam Akers, Cassidy Elliott, David Taylor; flute: Lindsey Nelson, Erin Chastain, Modjeska Hutchings, Christal Hudgins, Raven McCullough, Nicole Murphy, Lissa Ollis, Vanessa Paulson, Madeline Rhoades, Natalia Romero, Bree Silver, Natalie Whitecar.

Also, tenor sax: Samantha Janke, Ron Jones, Spencer Vandevier; tuba: Justin Herrington, Ben Angle; clarinet: Tegan Gibelyou, Jessica Bilyeu, Mariah Gifford, Evelyn Izaguirre, Erica Jackson, Angie Neuenschwander, Janice Williams; trumpet: Kyle Keller, Aaron Beatty, Anthony Boudrou, Spencer Nelson, Carlos Rooks, Page Shaw, Aerol Shepherd, Matt Stagner.

Also, drumline: Alex Schofield, Matt Olson, Timber Aguilar, Jeff Alexander, Austin Bangma, James Cornelison, Zach Hammond, Catherine Keller, Stephen Little, David Myers, Robert Myers, K.C. Stockbridge, Cody Peterson; pit: Alyse Cherry, Paul Cavanaugh, Tanisha Karn, Barry Neuenschwander, Crystal Quintana, Kersha Saldeen, Michelle Terry; horn: Melissa Bray, Marie Boone, David Mueller, Taylor Jones, Emily Vandevier.

Also, flagline: Keight Schwartzlose, Katie Ebner, Kayce Herrington, Kaitlin Jarret; Nikki Polard, Heather Rule, Andy Trevino, Jennifer Williams; trombone: Annmarie Becket, Bethany Naasz, Daniel Roberts, Spencer Williams; drum majors: Sara Feeley, Kyala Pascual; assistant directors: Michael Schreiber, Aemalemalo Seui, Amanda Hoffmann and Hayley Fuller.