MCC all-state scholars receive their awards

Chuck Spotts, center, the vice chancellor of instruction and student services at Mohave Community College, accompanied the eight MCC students named to the All-Arizona Academic Team to the state awards banquet at Mesa College in Mesa recently to receive their awards. From left are: Bernadette Gomez (third team) and Lynn Banks (second team) from the Henry Campus - Bullhead City; Carrie Williams (second team) and Leyessa Dockstader (second team) from the North Mohave campus; Spotts; Catherine Nowicki (third team) and Elijah Brown (third team) from Neal Campus - Kingman; and Christine Swendra (third team) and Aubrey Smith (first team) from the Lake Havasu campus. Smith is now eligible for nomination to the All-USA Academic Team, which will be announced in USA Weekend magazine in April. The state awards are sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges.