Christmas Coloring Contest
The Kingman Daily Miner Logo
Trusted local news leader for Kingman, Arizona & Mohave County
9:28 AM Mon, Dec. 10th

Kingman Letter: Thanks from the Western Arizona Vocational Education District No. 50

February is Career and Technical Education Month.

The Governing Board of the Western Arizona Vocational Education District No. 50 wishes to extend congratulations and a sincere thank you to the Career and Technical Education teachers in our district. Our Joint Technical Education District represents 48 teachers serving over 2,400 students in various career and technical education programs at our five campus sites.

Students at Mohave High School, River Valley High School, Kingman High School, Lake Havasu High School and Parker High School participate in a wide variety of 20 highly diversified JTED-funded programs. These programs are lead by Rob Rime at Colorado River Union High School District, Amy West at Kingman Unified School District, Shawna Schneikart at Lake Havasu Unified School District, and Nick Bompezzi at Parker Unified School District.

CTE plays a critical role in educating America's workforce and preparing students to be college-and career ready. Our highly qualified staff and teaching assistants help prepare the Mohave and La Paz County students for a place in the workforce. They are delivering dynamic curriculums that support academic potential, community college credits, and certification in the work place.

We want to applaud these dedicated individuals and recognize their contributions as educators who prepare our students for the future. Statistics show that the students who complete programs in CTE courses have significantly better test scores and are more likely to graduate with their class. Ninety-five percent of CTE students passed AIMS Reading, 92 percent of CTE students passed AIMS Math and 96 percent of CTE students passed AIMS Writing.

Students at all of the high schools in our JTED have consistently been top performers at the state level in a large number of student competitions. Please visit your local high school to observe these outstanding programs in action or visit our website at

Jack Pozenel, Governing Board Chairman

JoAnne Ehasz, Governing Board Vice Chairwoman

Tom Duranceau, Governing Board Member

Dr. Pamela Meyers, Governing Board Member

Rosemarie LeFebvre, Governing Board Member

Oz Enderby, Governing Board Member

Mr. James Gray, Governing Board Member