Residents interested in opening a medical marijuana dispensary in Arizona have until Friday to get their paperwork in.
The Arizona Department of Health Services started accepting applications for medical marijuana dispensary registration certificates on May 14. It will stop taking them at 5 p.m. on Friday.
According to the department, one application has been filed for each of the following cities in Mohave County - Kingman, Bullhead City and Lake Havasu City. No one has filed for a certificate for the Littlefield area, Dolan Springs, Fort Mohave or the Page/Fredonia area.
It costs $5,000 to apply for a certificate. Business owners who have had their dispensary application returned for insufficient information have 10 working days to submit the information.
Only one dispensary will be allowed per area. The department plans to use a random selection process to determine who will get a dispensary certificate in areas where more than one business applied. The department will award the certificates in August.
Once a business has a dispensary certificate, it must apply and get approval to operate and have the business inspected by the department at least 60 days before the certificate expires.
For more information on Arizona's Medical Marijuana Law, including applying for a patient or caregiver card or a dispensary certificate, visit http://www.azdhs.gov/medicalmarijuana/index.htm.