12 file for Council vacancy

KINGMAN - A dozen people applied to fill a vacancy on the City Council created when former vice mayor Mark Wimpee resigned last month with a year left on his term. The deadline to apply was 5 p.m. Tuesday.

In alphabetical order, the applicants are: Edgar Camez, former Councilwoman Erin Cochran, Kenneth Dean, Theresa Evans, Marianne van Hasselt, William (Bill) Lacy, Travis Lingenfelter, Joseph (Joe) Longoria, Janice Palmer, Travin Pennington, Harley Pettit, and Herberta Schroeder.

City Clerk Sydney Muhle said the City Council welcomes input from Kingman residents regarding the candidates. The Council will review the applications at its Nov. 17 meeting and is expected to winnow down the field to finalists, who will be invited to speak to the Council before a decision is made. That opportunity will likely come at the Council's first meeting of December.

The applicant who prevails will serve for a year, which is the time Wimpee had left in his term when he resigned Oct. 15. If the winning applicant chooses to seek a full term, he or she would have to run in the 2016 general election.

After the appointment is made, the Council will elect a new vice mayor from among its members.

Residents can contact the Council via email. Those who don't have access to email can call the city at (928) 753-5561 or written remarks can be mailed or dropped off at City Hall, 310 N. Fourth Street.

Mayor Richard Anderson can be contacted at randerson@cityofkingman.gov, Mark Abram can be contacted at mabram@cityofkingman.gov, Larry Carver can be contacted at lcarver@cityofkingman.gov, Jen Miles can be contacted at jmiles@cityofkingman.gov, Stuart Yocum can be contacted at sjyocum@cityofkingman.gov and Carole Young can be contacted at cyoung@cityofkingman.gov.