Trusted local news leader for Kingman, Arizona & Mohave County
Tue, Oct. 15

Byers elected, Johnson re-elected to Board of Supervisors

Kingman real estate agent Pete Byers was elected to the District 1 seat on the Mohave County Board of Supervisors by a wide margin, and District 3 incumbent Buster Johnson readily withstood a challenge, according to the unofficial election results.

Byers, a Republican, garnered 6,075 votes (57.7 percent), compared to 3,899 (37 percent) for Democrat John Collins of Kingman and 557 (5.3 percent) for independent Randy Lyles.

Lyles, a Kingman-area businessman, filed to run for the office, but he did not do any campaigning.

In the District 3 race, Johnson, a Republican from Lake Havasu City, received 8,331 votes (62.4 percent), compared with 5,011 (37.6 percent) for independent Joe Tamberella of Golden Valley.

The District 2 race was much closer.

Democrat Jim Jones of Fort Mojave was the top vote-getter at 4,134 votes (45.2 percent), followed by 3,996 votes (43.6 percent) for Republican Tom Sockwell of Bullhead City and 1,027 votes (11.2 percent) for independent Jim Howell of Bullhead City.

Jones is replacing Supervisor Jim Zaborsky, a Bullhead City Republican who did not seek another term.

Byers, who bested two Republican challengers during the Sept.

12 primary, replaces Supervisor Carol Anderson, a Kingman Republican who did not seek re-election.

"The only comment is I want to congratulate John Collins for running a nice, clean campaign," Byers said.

"I know he worked very hard and he did a great job.

He's good competition and he's a very nice man."

Collins, who is retired from Southern California Edison, concurred with Byers, saying, "I ran a good campaign.

I had a good committee."

Byers said he enjoyed running, but indicated that the campaign took a toll on his family life, including time spent with his two granddaughters, Kylie and Codi.

He said he plans to visit Albuquerque, N.M., for a few days to "collect my thoughts."

Tamberella, a Laughlin karaoke host who ran a low-budget insurgency campaign against Johnson, commented, "The people have spoken, and the people who have studied the economic dilemma of this county have made their voices heard.

I want to thank my supporters nationwide and in Mohave County."

Johnson, who ran on his record for promoting economic development, could not be reached for comment.

Johnson and his two board colleagues were elected in 1996.

Kingman-area voters also elected several candidates who either prevailed in the Republican primary or ran unopposed in the general election.

In the Mohave Union High School District, Jim Baker and Gordon Stewart were re-elected, with Baker getting 7,425 votes (52.2 percent) and Stewart drawing 6,799 votes (47.8 percent).

Andra Goldberg also ran unopposed for her seat, receiving 7,694 votes.

In the Kingman Elementary School District, Patrick Carlin Jr., Carolyn Stewart and Janet Watson were re-elected.

The vote counts were 5,782 for Carlin (33.6 percent), 5,986 for Stewart (34.8 percent) and 5,422 (31.5 percent) for Watson.

Charles Lucero ran unopposed for his seat, receiving 6,854 votes.

Dean Finkbeiner ran unopposed for his seat on the governing board of the Mohave Community College District, receiving 5,188 votes.

Candidates re-elected who beat challengers in the Sept.

12 GOP primary and their vote counts are:

• Sheriff Tom Sheahan, 27,552 votes.

• Treasurer Dora Goodmiller, 25,524 votes.

• County School Superintendent Mike File, 24,142 votes.

• County Recorder Joan McCall, 25,247 votes.

• County Assessor Bev Payne, 23,911 votes.

County Attorney Bill Ekstrom and Division 5 Superior Court Judge Bob Moon, both Republicans, ran unopposed in the primary and general elections.

Ekstrom received 23,892 votes and Moon garnered 22,671.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads

For as little as $3.49*