Trusted local news leader for Kingman, Arizona & Mohave County
Tue, July 23

Council approves two sign-free zones

With minimal discussion, the Kingman City Council unanimously approved two sign-free zones in response to state legislation that makes it a right to post political signs in public rights-of-way during elections.

Neither the sign-free zone nor the legislation itself has any bearing on private property owners' rights to post signs of their choosing on their property.

Here are the approved sign-free zones: Stockton Hill Road from Gordon Drive to Andy Devine Avenue; Andy Devine Avenue from Michael Street to Grandview Avenue; Beale Street from Grandview to 10th Street; Oak Street from First to Seventh streets; Spring Street from First to Sixth streets; First Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Spring Street; Second Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Spring Street; Third Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Spring Street; Fourth Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Spring Street; Fifth Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Spring Street; Sixth Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Spring Street; Seventh Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Court Street, Eighth Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Oak Street; Ninth Street from Andy Devine Avenue to Beale Street; and Hualapai Mountain Road from Andy Devine Avenue to Kingman's eastern city limits.

Although this looks more like several sign-free zones rather than two, all the corridors are directly connected, essentially creating one interconnected zone spread over several areas.

Outside of the commercial, tourism and hotel sign-free zones, people may post political signs of their choosing - as long as they state the name and phone number of the candidate or campaign-committee person who place the signs. Political signs are not allowed on state rights-of-way.

Signs may go up 60 days before a primary election and stay up until 15 days after a general election. Candidates who do not make it past primary elections must remove their signs no more than 15 days after the primary.

Earlier in the meeting, Economic Development and Marketing Commission Chair John Kirby resigned from the commission, citing ideology differences between him and the rest of the commission as well as irreconcilable differences between him and the Council liaison to the commission, Carole Young.

"I can't see eye-to-eye with the Council liaison," Kirby said. "We don't share respect for each other."

Regarding EDMC, the terms of commissioners Cat Van Kampen. George Francuski, C. David Cooley, Mark Huling and Mike Roberts expire Dec. 31. Also, commissioner Robert Dominguez recently resigned with one year remaining on his term. The commission had also recommended the removal of commissioner Wyatt Brooks because of attendance issues during the last year.

Out of all the commissioners whose terms are ending, only Mike Roberts wanted to be reappointed for a second three-year term.

Brooks spoke at the Council meeting, saying that many of his absences were due to him fighting wild fires over the summer. He questioned the leadership of EDMC and said he believed the situation has been handled wrong. He told Council that he wanted to remain on EDMC, and Mayor John Salem said that if Brooks is interested, he would like to keep him on.

Council voted to keep Brooks on, and then decided to appoint Richard Hamilton, Steven Wagner, Dwayne Patterson, Karl Kettlehut and Ronald Ellstrom to the commission. Roberts was also reappointed for a second term.

One hole in the commission remains because of Kirby's resignation, and Council will also need to designate who takes over for Dominguez, as that person will serve the one year remaining of the three-year term while the others get to start fresh.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads

For as little as $3.49*