Trusted local news leader for Kingman, Arizona & Mohave County
Tue, April 23

Four more years for Sheriff Sheahan, attorney Smith
Recorder, assessor and judge also unchallenged

County Attorney Matt Smith

County Attorney Matt Smith

While the races for the five supervisor seats have grabbed the headlines, five county incumbents have watched the filing deadline come and go with no one stepping up to challenge them.

County Attorney Matt Smith, Sheriff Tom Sheahan, Recorder Carol Meier, Assessor Ron Nicholson and Superior Court Division 5 Judge Rick Williams, all Republicans, are unopposed barring write-in campaigns.

May 30 was the last day to file paperwork with the Mohave County Elections Department and the Arizona Secretary of State's Office to run in the primary. Write-in candidates have until July 19 to file.

According to the Elections Department website, five people turned in signatures for the District 1 Board of Supervisors seat, 13 for the new District 4, four for District 2, two for District 3 and seven for the new District 5 seat.

The department also received petitions from two people for the Treasurers and the County Superintendent's seats.

However, there is still time to challenge petition signatures. According to Arizona Revised Statutes, any registered voter may challenge the validity of a candidate's petition signatures.

The challenge has to be filed in Superior Court within 10 days - excluding weekends and holidays - of the last day to file the nominating petitions. The challenger has to detail the exact petition number, line number and the reason why they are challenging that signature. The judge then has 10 days to rule on the matter.

A voter can also challenge a candidate's legal qualifications for office, such as age or residency.

Elections Department officials said they did not have specifics, but numerous people have requested to look at the petition signatures of a number of candidates for county offices. No one has filed a formal challenge yet.

Mohave County voters will also be casting votes on Aug. 28 for U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives District 4, Mohave County's Arizona House of Representatives and Senate seats (District 5), and three seats on the Arizona Corporation Commission.

According to the Arizona Secretary of State's Office, seven have filed to run for the U.S. Senate, five have filed for the U.S. House, five have filed for the Arizona House, four have filed for the Arizona Senate and six have filed for the ACC.

The last day to register to vote in the primary election is July 30.

Residents can register to vote online with a valid Arizona Driver's License or state ID card at, or by printing a form off of the Arizona Secretary of State's Office website,, and mailing it to the Mohave County Recorder's Office or by filing a form out at the Mohave County Recorder's Office, 700 W. Beale Street.

Early voting for the primary starts on Aug. 2. The early voting locations have not been announced yet.

To find your polling place check out the Secretary of State's Office website, www. or call the Voter Registration Department of the Mohave County Recorder's Office at (928) 753-0767.


This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads

For as little as $3.49*