Trusted local news leader for Kingman, Arizona & Mohave County
Wed, Jan. 22

Political hopefuls line up for bevy of primary races
The primary election is Aug. 26

KINGMAN - The Mohave County Elections Department hopes 13 isn't an unlucky number. That's how many different primary election ballots must be printed.

According to Betty Vernon, the county's deputy elections director, here's the basic breakdown of what voters can expect Aug. 26 - or starting July 31 if they're voting early:

Voters registered to one of four main parties - Republican, Democratic, Libertarian or Americans Elect - will receive ballots specific to those candidates.

Independents or people with "no designated party" can choose one of the four main party ballots.

Members of smaller parties will also have to choose among one of the four ballots.

"Reform party, Green party, it can even be the Halloween party," said Vernon, "they have to choose one of those four."

Ballots will also be different depending on where one resides in the county.

For example, only voters who live within the Kingman city limits will have mayor and City Council candidates on their ballot, and because the Council is nonpartisan, their names will appear on all four political party ballots.

The same holds true for ballots that will be printed for Lake Havasu City and Bullhead City.

Kingman City Council

With Mayor Janet Watson stepping down at the end of the year, Councilman Richard Anderson and Councilwoman Erin Cochran seek to replace her.

If either wins a simple majority of more than 51 percent, they could be Aug. 26, so that election could prove more important than the Nov. 4 general.

Councilwoman Jen Miles, Carol Decker-Noli, Janice Palmer, Stuart Yocum, Kent Smith, Carol Decker-Noli and Mark Abrams are running for one of three Council seats. Miles seeks to win election after her appointment to the Council last fall. Cochran and Anderson currently hold the other two seats and their terms end this year.

Again, any Council candidate who wins a simple majority wins the seat and will not have to compete in the Nov. 4 election.

In a change this year, whomever is elected in November will take office in the middle of December, rather than after the new year begins Jan. 1.

Mohave County Board Of Supervisors

Normally, there would not be a board of supervisors election until 2016, as they all run on the same four-year cycle.

With the recent passing of Supervisor Joy Brotherton, however, eight candidates will compete to fill her District 4 seat.

All but one is a Republican. Five are Kingman residents, two live in Chloride and one lives in Golden Valley.

One is Jean Bishop, whom the board recently appointed to fill the vacancy left by Brotherton's death, of Chloride.

Republican Bill Keller also lives in Chloride.

Kingman residents Bob Boyd, Travis Lingenfelter, Jack Pozenal and Ted Roper are all Republicans. Jack Ehrhardt of Kingman is the only Democrat in the race. Al DiCicco of Golden Valley rounds out the candidates.

Mohave County Courts

All voters in Mohave County will have judicial elections on their ballot, but they'll only have to decide on Superior Court Division 2. Current Judge Derek Carlisle and Lake Havasu City attorney Paul Krueger are vying to replace Randolph Bartlett, who does not seek re-election.

Judges Charles W. Gurtler, Steven Conn, Lee Jantzen, Richard Weiss and Rick Lambert are unopposed. All judicial candidates are Republicans.

Cerbat Justice of the Peace John Taylor faces Mervyn Pitchfork Freedom. Both men are Republicans.

Kingman Justice of the Peace Dave Huerta, also a Republican, runs unopposed.


Ray Cullison and Debbie Francis are running for Cerbat Constable and Mike Cobb and Neal Hickerson seek the Kingman Constable position. All four are Republicans.


Lake Havasu City resident and District 5 state Sen. Kelli Ward runs unopposed for another term, but the ballot for state Rep. Sonny Borelli, R-Mohave County, her Lake Havasu counterpart, is crowded.

In the primary Borelli will face off against Republicans Regina Cobb, of Kingman; Jennifer Jones, of Quartzite; Sam Medrano, of Bullhead City; and George Schnittgrund of Lake Havasu City.

State Rep. Doris Goodale will not seek another term.

The two Republican candidates with the most votes will face Democrats Joe Longoria of Kingman and Beth Weisser of Golden Valley in the November election.

State Officers

No race has garnered more candidate interest than for the state's chief executive.

With Gov. Jan Brewer term-limited, this will be the first open election for governor in a dozen years.

The seven Republicans who will face off in the Aug. 26 primary are Arizona Secretary of State Ken Bennett, state Treasurer Doug Ducey, attorney Christine Jones, and Alice Lukasik (a write-in candidate).

Also, former U.S. Rep. Frank Riggs, former Mesa Mayor Scott Smith, and former Maricopa County Attorney Andrew Thomas.

Whoever wins the primary will face Democrat Fred DuVal, Libertarian Barry J. Hess, and Americans Elect candidate J.L. Mealer or Americans Elect write-in candidate Janelle Wood.

With Bennett running for governor, four candidates seek to replace him as the next Arizona Secretary of State.

Republicans Wil Cardon, an investment fund manager; state Rep. Justin Pierce and state Sen. Michele Reagan will face off in the primary with the winner taking on Democrat Terry Goddard, a former state attorney general, in the Nov. 4 election.

Current Republican Attorney General Tom Horne faces former state Gaming Director Mark Brnovich in the primary with the winner facing former Assistant Attorney General Felecia Rotellini, a Democrat, in the general election.

State Treasurer Doug Ducey's gubernatorial campaign prompted three Republicans to seek the position. They are Jeff DeWit, Hugh Hallman and Randy Pullen.

Embattled State Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal faces former Peoria School Board member Diane Douglas, a Republican, in the primary. The top vote getter between Democrats David Garcia, a professor, and teacher Sharon Thomas, will challenge the top Republican voter getter in the general election.


Neither U.S. Sen. John McCain nor Jeff Flake, both Republicans, has an election this year. McCain's term expires in 2016 and Flake's term ends two years later.

Mikel Weisser, a Democrat, has challenged Rep. Paul Gosar, R-Arizona. Their names will not appear on the primary ballot.

Event Calendar
Event Calendar link
Submit Event

This Week's Circulars

To view money-saving ads

For as little as $3.49*